Castle Stalker is a remote tower house located on the small scenic island of Loch Linne. The name ‘Stalker’ is derived from the Gaelic word Stalcaire, meaning “hunter” or “falconer”. Castle Stalker is completely authentic and hasn’t been added to, only conserved, it is one of the best preserved medieval tower-houses in western Scotland.
The castle is accessible from the nearby shore of Portnocuish when the tide is low. However, this can prove difficult. It is located around 1.5 miles northeast of Port Appin, Argyll, Scotland and it is visible from the A828 road between Oban and Glen Coe.
The original castle was used as a small fort by Clan Macdougall who constructed the historical building in the year 1320. Throughout the medieval era, Castle Stalker has changed ownership multiple times. Lords of the tower house ranged from the Stewarts in 1388 to their relatives, King James VI of Scotland, (who in fact lost ownership of the property in a drunken bet to the Clan Campbell!). After multiple ownership changes, the owners decided to abandon the castle in around 1940.
Throughout multiple years of conservation work and restoration work, Castle Stalker remains in the ownership of a private landlord. It is open during selected times within the summer season.
Although it is uncertain whether the castle is haunted or not it is certainly said tto have its own weird phenomena. Legend has it that prior to the death of a Stewart chieftain an orb of brilliant light would appear and hover over the eerie castle just moments before the great man passed away.
Tourists have commented on the gloomy appearance and haunted atmosphere they experience when exploring the castle. However, whether the castle is haunted or not remains a mystery
In popular culture the castle has been used in multiple films such as ‘Monty Python and the Holy Grail (1975)’ and also in the film Highlander: Endgame. It has been the inspiration for books and a typical example of a small Scottish castle.