Completed in 1809, the South Stack Lighthouse has been warning passing ships of the hazardous landfall below for two centuries.
Standing 28 metres tall, the lighthouse was designed by Daniel Alexander so that its light could be seen by ships up to 24 nautical miles (44 kilometres) away. For ships travelling from Northern Ireland to Wales, it is the first beacon along the coast of Anglesey. The beacon itself emits one bright white flash every 10 seconds, as well as a fog horn that can be heard for 4 kilometres when visibility is low.
In September 1984, the lighthouse was automated and the keepers were withdrawn. The system is still operational and is regulated remotely by Trinity House, who take care of dozens of lighthouses around Britain. The tower is open seasonally, and visitors can climb the 400-odd stairs to the viewing platform, engine room, and exhibition area at the top, where the views are noted as being spectacular in the evening or during a heavy storm.
Camping and Caravanning Club Site
Tyddyn Sianel, Llanystumdwy, Criccieth
Gwynedd, Wales, LL52 0LS
+44 (0)1766 522 855
- Address: South Stack Road, Holyhead, Anglesey, Wales, UK, LL65 1YH
- GPS: 53.30666667,-4.699444444
- Phone: 0044 (0)1407 763 900
- Part of UK: Wales
- Sat Nav Postcode: LL65 1YH
- Entrance Fees: Yes
- Disabled Access: No
- Visibility from Road: Excellent
- Image Credits: Header Image: Gail Johnson